Qarabag striker Ibrahima Wadji scores a handball goal against Marseille in the Europa conference
Qarabag striker Ibrahima Wadji scores a handball goal against Marseille in the Europa Conference play-off… but his manager Gurban Gurbanov told his player to tell the referee it was handball and the goal was excluded
- Qarabag striker Ibrahima Wadji scored a slam-dunk style goal in the 34th minute
- Manager Gurban Gurbanov told striker to tell referee it was handball
- He was initially cleared to feature due to the absence of VAR at the Europa Conference tie
Qarabag striker Ibrahima Wadji scored an amazing handball goal and he was allowed to stay until his own manager told the referee to send him off.
The striker blatantly used his first to beat Marseille goalkeeper Steve Mandanda to the ball and smash it in a basketball slam-dunk style in the 34th minute.
Incredibly, he was first allowed to feature in the Europa Conference League play-off tie.
Qarabag celebrates the goal, but the goal was disallowed after manager Gurban Gurbanov told the referee it was handball
The Marseillais protest furiously against the handball goal of Qarabag striker Ibrahima Wadji
This is because the handball was missed by the referees and there is no VAR before the final.
The Marseille players were understandably furious, but Wadji played dumb for a good three minutes as the protests continued.
But then the Azerbaijani side’s boss Gurban Gurbanov spoke to his striker and insisted the goal had come in a fantastic display of sportsmanship following his striker’s cheating.
Wadji then appeared to confess the offense to the official who then gave the French a free kick.
The visitors Marseille were leading 1-0 at the time, and 4-1 on aggregate, thanks to Papa Gueye’s opener in the 12th minute.
Matteo Guendouzi added a second for the French in the 77th minute.